• Psychonomic Society Early Career Award

    The Psychonomic Society will confer scientific awards each year upon young scientists who have made significant contributions to scientific psychology early in their careers. The purpose of the awards is to raise the visibility of our science and of our very best young scientists within the field, within the awardees’ institutions, in the press, and in the larger community. Many universities are carefully scrutinizing departments and programs in deciding upon the deployment of limited resources, and among the most important criteria are those that indicate academic and scientific quality. In the recent NRC rankings of graduate programs, “number of academic awards” was among the criteria that contributed to assessing program quality. By including the voice of the Psychonomic Society in such assessments, we can contribute to the continued strength of our field.

    Each year the Psychonomic Society will name not more than four awardees. One nominee, whose research is closest to the areas of perception and attention, will receive the Steven Yantis Early Career Award. The awardees will be formally recognized at the Annual Meeting, and will receive a plaque or framed award document and a cash prize, initially set to $2,500 plus airfare to the Annual Meeting. The names of awardees will be displayed permanently on the Society’s web site.

    • Awardees must have completed their highest degree (typically the PhD) no more than ten years before the year in which the award is given.
    • The nominee must be a Member or Fellow of the Psychonomic Society.
    Nomination Procedures
    • Nominations may be made by any Member, Fellow or Emeritus Member of the Psychonomic Society.
    • The nomination will be submitted electronically to the Psychonomic Society.
    • The nomination will consist of the nominee’s current CV, a letter (no more than 2 pages) from the nominator and from one other Member of the Society, and up to four of the nominee’s most significant publications. 
    • Self-nominations are not permitted. 
    • The deadline will be March 15, 2015. Please submit nominations for consideration by the Awards Committee so awardees can plan to attend and be recognized at the 2015 Annual Meeting of the Psychonomic Society in Chicago, Illinois, USA.

    Selection Process
    The Governing Board will designate one member of the Governing Board to serve as chair of the Awards Committee, and additional Members of the Society to serve on the Awards Committee reflecting the areas of research that are characteristic of the Society. The Awards Committee will review nominations via conference call and make recommendations about each award to the Governing Board by May 1, which will review and vote via email on whether to endorse the recommendations. Final decisions will be made by May 15, allowing awardees to submit abstracts to the meeting. The Executive Director will arrange for plaques or framed award documents and monetary awards to be given at the Annual Meeting. The names and citations of the awardees will be published in the program of the Annual Meeting.

    The Society will seek to reward excellence in any area of research relevant to the Society. Over the course of several years, the committee will make an effort to distribute awards over all the areas characteristic of the Society. 
  • Psychonomic Society
    Early Career Award Winners


    Michael N. Jones
    Indiana University
    Cognition and Computation

    Tania Lombrozo
    University of California, Berkeley
    Life span Language and Cognition

    Katherine Rawson
    Kent State University
    Learning and Memory

    Jessica K. Witt
    Colorado State University
    Perception and Action


    Steven Franconeri
    Northwestern University
    Visual Spatial Attention

    Jeffrey Karpicke
    Purdue University
    Learning and Memory

    Michael Kaschak
    Florida State University
    Language Comprehension

    Bob McMurray
    University of Iowa
    Developmental Science


    Sian L. Beilock
    University of Chicago
    Memory and Performance

    Scott Brown
    University of Newcastle, Australia
    Models of Response Time

    Thomas Griffith
    University of California, Berkeley
    Causal Induction

    Nash Unsworth
    University of Oregon
    Working Memory