• Annual Meeting | General Information

  • Plan to attend the Psychonomic Society's 55th Annual Meeting

    November 20-23, 2014
    Long Beach, California, USA

    Call for Abstracts
    Opened: April 1, 2014
    Symposium Proposals: Now closed.  Deadline was May 1, 2014
    Select-Speaker Award: Now closed.  Deadline was May 15, 2014
    Papers & Posters Closes: Now closed.  Deadline was June 1, 2014

    The 2014 meeting of the Psychonomic Society will be held in Long Beach, California, USA.  Escape the cold and come to sunny southern California to join us for the 55th Annual Meeting.  The Keynote Address will be given by Larry Jacoby of Washington University in St. Louis.  There will be Invited Symposia in addition to a full slate of spoken papers and posters by Fellows, Members, and students. 

    Consider proposing a symposium.  Symposia should highlight new emerging ideas that are likely to have broad influence in shaping future research, especially ideas from related disciplines. Any member (Fellow or Member) may propose an invited symposium. Symposium proposals were due on May 1, 2014. 

    Abstracts for talks and posters were due on June 1, 2014.  In 2013 there were 1,264 submissions. Of the 1,248 papers that were accepted, 298 were spoken papers and 950 were posters. In addition, there were four Invited Symposia.

    We will again be selecting abstracts by Members (not Fellows) for the Member Select-Speaker Awards.  The purpose of the Member Select-Speaker Awards is to highlight exceptional research by Members at the annual meeting.  Recipients will therefore be expected to present their work as a talk rather than a poster. Each recipient will receive $1,500 to cover travel expenses. All Members of the Psychonomic Society who have paid their 2014 dues are eligible for a Member Select-Speaker Award.  Abstracts submitted for this award are closed now.  The deadline was May 15, 2014.  Additionally, APA Division 3 will be offering a Best 2014 Psychonomic Society Poster award again.

    Program Committee

    Aaron Benjamin, Chair, University of Illinois
    Michael Dodd, University of Nebraska
    Janet Metcalfe, Columbia University
    Russ Poldrack, University of Texas
    Valerie Reyna, Cornell University

    Convention Staff
    Ruth Maki, Program Organizer, University of Arizona
    Andrew Conway, Convention Manager, Princeton University
    Lou Shomette, Executive Director
    Peggy O'Brien,CMP, Meeting Planner