John Dunlosky
Donate | Join/Renew | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In
Dunlosky Elected as 2018 Chair of the Governing Board
Share |

The Psychonomic Society Announces 2018 Chair of the Governing Board

The Psychonomic Society is pleased to announce the Governing Board has elected their 2018 Chair.

John Dunlosky, Professor of Psychology and Director of the Science of Learning and Education Center at Kent State University, will begin as Chair-elect in 2017 and will assume the role of Chair in 2018. “I am honored to serve the Psychonomic Society,” said Dunlosky. “Ever since graduate school, Psychonomics has played a central role in my own career, and its recent growth and international visibility will ensure that the Psychonomic Society continues to have a broad and meaningful impact on psychological science.  As Chair-elect of the Board, I’m truly excited to be given the opportunity to help our members promote their research world wide.”

Commenting, Cathleen Moore, current chair of the Governing Board said, “This is an excellent day for the Psychonomic Society.  John’s service to the Society over the years as Associate Editor at Psychonomic Bulletin & Review and later as a member of the Governing Board, including serving as Chair of the Program Committee, and now taking on Chair Elect of the Board stems from a deep dedication to what we do and how we do it. "

In September, Marc Brysbaert, Ghent University, and James Pomerantz, Rice University, were elected by the Society’s membership and will join the Governing Board in January for a six year term.

Effective January 1, 2017, Aaron Benjamin, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign will become Chair, Cathleen Moore, University of Iowa, will become Past Chair. Continuing Governing Board members will include: Edward Awh, University of Chicago, Teresa Bajo, University of Granada, Laura Carlson, University of Notre Dame, John Dunlosky, Kent State University, Fernanda Ferreira, University of California, Davis, Robert Logie, University of Edinburgh, Janet Metcalfe, Columbia University, Patricia Reuter-Lorenz, University of Michigan, and Valerie Reyna, Cornell University. A special thank you to retiring Governing Board member Lynne Reder, Carnegie Mellon University.


Dr. John Dunlosky is a Professor of Psychological Sciences and the director of the Science of Learning and Education Center at Kent State University, where he has taught since 2004.  He has contributed empirical and theoretical work on metacognition and self-regulated learning, and his current research focus is on discovering techniques that will improve students’ learning and achievement across the lifespan.  Dr. Dunlosky is the Chair-elect of the Governing Board of the Psychonomic Society, a fellow of the Association for Psychological Science, a founder of the International Association for Metacognition, and co-authored Metacognition, the first textbook on the topic.



  2424 American Lane • Madison, WI 53704-3102 USA
Phone: +1 608-441-1070 • Fax: +1 608-443-2474 • Email:

Use of Articles
Legal Notice