Donate | Join/Renew | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In
Memory & Cognition Special Issue
Share |

ISSN: 0090-502X (Print)

1532-5946 (Online)

Published eight times a year.
(Jan, Feb, Apr, May, Jul, Aug, Oct, Nov).

Closed for Submissions
The deadline was August 1, 2018.

Special Issue to Commemorate the
50th Anniversary of Atkinson and Shiffrin

Human Memory: A Proposed
System and Its Control Processes

The deadline was August 1, 2018

Guest Editors:
Rich Shiffrin, University of Indiana
Ken Malmberg, University of South Florida
Jeroen Raaijmakers, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands

It has been 50 years since Atkinson and Shiffrin published their seminal chapter on the modal model of memory, influencing much of the modern agenda in memory research. All interested researchers are invited to submit papers for this special issue. Such papers could pursue themes set forth in that chapter, alternatives to those themes, new research projects related to those themes, or reviews of research topics relevant to that chapter.

Papers should meet the high scientific and ethical standards for the journal and will be subject to the normal exacting review process. If you have questions, please email the guest editors at the addresses below.

Manuscripts should be submitted using the normal submission portal for Memory & Cognition ( by August 1, 2018 and should state in the cover letter that the paper should be considered for the special issue.

If guest editors invite revisions, these will be expected within two months of receipt of the editorial decision letter and reviews. There will generally only be one round of revision and resubmission to allow for timely publication of the special issue. Strong papers that miss the deadline for submission of a revision or that require more than minor additional revision after an invited resubmission may be considered for publication in a later, standard issue of the journal, at the discretion of the journal editor.

Please email questions to the guest editors:
Rich Shiffrin, University of Indiana
Ken Malmberg, University of South Florida
Jeroen Raaijmakers, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands


Table of Contents by E-mail
About this Journal
Manuscript Submission
All Volumes & Issues
Open access to articles older than 12 months



Editor in Chief

Neil Mulligan
University of North Carolina
at Chapel Hill, USA

Associate Editors
C. Philip Beaman
University of Reading, United Kingdom

Jeffrey Bowers
University of Bristol, United Kingdom

Ruth Byrne
Trinity College Dublin and
University of Dublin, Ireland

Myra Fernandes
University of Waterloo, Canada

Lisa D. Geraci
Texas A&M University, USA

Angela Gutchess
Brandeis University, USA

Jason L. Hicks
Louisiana State University, USA

Joseph Magliano
Northern Illinois University, USA

Ayanna Thomas
Tufts University, USA

Matthew Traxler
University of California, Davis, USA

Consulting Editors


  2424 American Lane • Madison, WI 53704-3102 USA
Phone: +1 608-441-1070 • Fax: +1 608-443-2474 • Email:

Use of Articles
Legal Notice

Privacy Policy