Donate | Join/Renew | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In
Diversity & Inclusion
Share |

Participants at the Diversity & Inclusion reception at the 2018 Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Most scientists in psychological research agree that diversity, both ethnic and gender based, are good for the field. As a Society, the enhancement of diversity and elimination of bias is one of our main goals. We must support this goal to ensure the proper direction of the field in the future. The ability of the field to meet these challenges will require the full participation of all members of society; thus the Psychonomic Society (PS) recognizes the strategic and critical importance of a diverse and inclusive climate for the future of the field.

Diversity & Inclusion Committee
In 2016, PS recognized that the Society and field are not as diverse as we would like it to be and created a Diversity & Inclusion Committee to address these concerns. The Diversity & Inclusion Committee improves coordination and collaboration of diversity efforts throughout the Society; provides the structure for effective utilization of Society resources committed to diversity; and helps to maintain diversity as a priority issue for the Society.

The Psychonomic Society is committed to scientific merit, which entails the inclusion of scientists of all genders, races, sexual orientations, countries of origin, geographical locations, and disciplinary expertise. As our members submit a proposal for a symposium, workshop, collaborative symposium, or nominee for an award, we ask that they critically examine their deliberations to eliminate biases that detract from our commitment to merit.

Diversity & Inclusion Initiatives

  • Work towards strong representation in all aspects of the Society (e.g. governance, awards, workshops, supported symposia, keynote speakers, etc.) that are not only gender balanced, but includes underrepresented groups.

  • Hold a diversity and inclusion networking reception during each Annual Meeting.

  • Create and award five student diversity travel awards valued at $1,000 each, to be provided for students from underrepresented groups. These awards are named the J. Frank Yates Student Travel Award - Supporting diversity & inclusion in cognitive psychology.

Statement on Anti-harassment

Deliberative diversity in the review process

Committee Members
Valerie Reyna, Chair, Cornell University
Ivy Defoe, University of Pennsylvania
Angela Gutchess, Brandeis University
Jean Fox Tree, University of California, Santa Cruz
Alejandro Lleras, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Travis Seymour, University of California, Santa Cruz


  2424 American Lane • Madison, WI 53704-3102 USA
Phone: +1 608-441-1070 • Fax: +1 608-443-2474 • Email:

Use of Articles
Legal Notice

Privacy Policy