Donate | Join/Renew | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In
2020 Election
Share |

2021 Governing Board Election
Current 2020 Fellows, Members, and Emeriti may vote.

Procedures: Nominations and Elections
Nominations and elections in the Psychonomic Society are governed by the Article V: Elections of its Bylaws. Bylaws direct that there shall be a Nominations Committee that prepares a slate with six candidates for two positions on the Governing Board. This is done by the Secretary canvassing the membership for nominations of Fellows or Emeritus Fellows to serve on the Governing Board. Nominations may not include any current members of the Governing Board (Edward Awh, Laura Carlson, John Dunlosky, Fernanda Ferreira, Angela Gutchess, Michael Kane, Stephan Lewandowsky, Penny Pexman, James Pomerantz, Caren Rotello, Duane Watson).

Terms for a Special Election
In the case of resignation, recall, or death of a member of the Governing Board, the vacancy shall be filled during the next election. Each Member may vote for three rather than the usual two nominees. The two candidates receiving the most votes will serve full terms as usual. The third-ranking candidate shall complete the unfilled term of office, but may stand for election to a full term.

Nominations for the 2021 Governing Board
Each member (Member, Fellow, Emeritus Member, or Emeritus Fellow) may nominate up to four persons. Student members may not vote. The names of the three persons who receive the greatest number of nominations, and who signify their willingness to serve, shall be placed on an election ballot. The Nominations Committee will select an additional three candidates (who may also be persons nominated by the membership) to be placed on the ballot. Thus, the final ballot to be submitted for vote by the membership will include six nominees.

Three (3) candidates will be elected to Governing Board for terms beginning in 2021. The two candidates that receive the most votes in this year's election will fill the two full terms available on the Governing Board (2021-2026). The candidate that receives the third highest number of votes will fill a partial term (2021-2022), completing the remainder of former GB member Marc Brysbaert's term. Brysbaert resigned from the Governing Board in 2020 in order to become Editor of Behavior Research Methods.

Nomination Period - Now closed. The nomination deadline was June 15.
The nominating period for members to serve on the Governing Board of the Psychonomic Society will open on May 1 and close on June 15. The two full terms will run from 2021-2026; the partial term to fill the seat vacated by Marc Brysbaert will run from 2021-2022. Nominees must be Fellows or Emeritus Fellows of the Society and cannot include any of the current members or previous members of the Governing Board. Student members are unable to submit nominations or vote in the election.

Governing Board Member Duties
The Governing Board works throughout the year. The duties of the Governing Board include chairing and serving on committees, attending meetings, and participating in email discussions and votes. There are two in-person meetings during the year, one in the summer and one that is held the day before the Annual Meeting in November. Sometimes there is one annual teleconference meeting in the spring (usually in April). Email discussions and votes occur frequently through the year, between meetings.

The Psychonomic Society is committed to scientific merit, which entails the inclusion of scientists regardless of gender, race, sexual orientation, disability status, country of origin, geographic location, and disciplinary expertise. In making your nominations, we ask that you critically examine your deliberations to eliminate biases that detract from our commitment to merit.

Submitting Nominations
You may nominate yourself and you are free to encourage colleagues to nominate anyone that you consider particularly well-suited to play a leadership role in governing the Psychonomic Society. We encourage you to participate in the nominating process as the Society is in an exciting period of change with many new initiatives under way.

The nominating period is open from May 1 - June 15, and we encourage you to submit your nominations as soon as the call for nominations opens. If you wish to encourage others to nominate you or another person, in your email - please remind them to use their own nominations form to make their nominations.

If you are an Associate Editor of one of our journals, you may not run for a Board position unless you agree to resign your journal position if elected.

Election - Opens July 15, closes August 31
Voting opens July 15, 2020. Current 2020 Fellows, Members, and Emeriti may vote. The deadline to vote is August 31, 2020. Ballots will be sent by email. Your ballot can be used only once and should only be used by you. Do not forward your ballot.

+1 847-375-3696


Governing Board
Member History


John Dunlosky
Kent State University, USA


Pooja K. Agarwal
Berklee College of Music, USA

Laura Carlson
University of Notre Dame, USA

Lynn Hasher
University of Toronto, Canada

Klaus Oberauer
University of Zurich,


University of
Pennsylvania, USA


+1 847-375-3696

  8735 W. Higgins Road, Suite 300 • Chicago, IL 60631 USA
Phone: +1 847-375-3696 • Fax: +1 847-375-6449 • Email:

Use of Articles
Legal Notice

Privacy Policy