Donate | Join/Renew | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In
Psychonomic Society Clifford T. Morgan Distinguished Leadership Award
Share |

The Clifford T. Morgan Distinguished Leadership Award honors individuals for their significant contributions to the field of cognitive psychology. Recipients have been in the field for 10+ years and have demonstrated sustained leadership and service to the discipline. For the full nomination criteria and selection process, click here


2019 Clifford T. Morgan Distinguished Leadership Award Recipients
W. Tecumseh Fitch

Mary Peterson
University of Arizona, USA

PS Governing Board Chair, 2009

Suparna Rajaram
Stony Brook University, SUNY, USA

PS Governing Board Chair, 2008

Brian Ross
Minerva School at KGI, USA

PS Governing Board Chair, 2010


In 2008, the Psychonomic Society was in terrible financial shape. The Society had been hit hard by reduced journal subscriptions, escalating printing and labor costs, and a poor U.S. economy. It had weathered multiple years of financial loss. There was great uncertainty about how the Society would adapt to changes in the field and position itself for the future. But the leadership of the Society's Governing Board - a series of chairs who had the vision, wisdom, and strength to lead the Society through those tough years - helped shape the Society into what it is today. Their leadership was so strong that there was minimal disruption to the Society's ongoing programming, and few people realized the magnitude of the challenges that had to be faced and overcome.
The most important step these leaders took was to transition the Society’s self-publishing program to a partnership with a major scientific publisher. With the help of Lawrence Erlbaum (Lawrence Erlbaum Associates) and Alan G. Kraut (Association for Psychological Science), Mary Peterson (GB Chair, 2009), Suparna Rajaram (GB Chair, 2008), and Brian Ross (GB Chair, 2010), through a comprehensive Request for Proposals (RFP) written by Donald Foss (University of Houston), sent our journal publishing program out for tender.
The RFP resulted in multiple proposals by most of the major publishers. In the end, the Society signed a 10-year agreement with Springer. That partnership changed the course of the Society's financial standing and set it on firm financial ground for years to come.
Mary, Suparna, and Brian were, and continue to be, outstanding models of leadership. We owe them an enormous debt of gratitude. We are delighted to honor them this year with the Society’s inaugural Distinguished Leadership Award. The recipients will be honored at the business meeting on Saturday, November 16, during the Psychonomic Society’s 2019 Annual Meeting in Montréal, Québec, Canada.


Clifford T. Morgan

About Clifford T. Morgan

Clifford Thomas Morgan, professor of psychology at the University of Texas, was born in Minolta, New Jersey, in 1915. He received his undergraduate education at Maryville College and his PhD from Rochester University in 1939. He passed away in 1976 in Austin, Texas.
Clifford T. Morgan was a founding member of the Psychonomic Society and the first Governing Board Chair. W.R. Garner, Yale University, wrote this wonderful memorial in Clifford T. Morgan's honor. The memorial was shared at the Psychonomic Society's 1976 Annual Meeting.



Clifford T. Morgan
Distinguished Leadership

Award Criteria


Nora S. Newcombe
Temple University, USA

Henry L. Roediger, III
Washington University in St. Louis, USA

Other Psychonomic Society Awards

Best Article Award

Early Career Award

Mid-Career Award

Graduate Travel Award

J. Frank Yates
Student Travel Award

Supporting diversity & inclusion
in cognitive psychology


  8735 W. Higgins Road, Suite 300 • Chicago, IL 60631 USA
Phone: +1 847-375-3696 • Fax: +1 847-375-6449 • Email:

Use of Articles
Legal Notice

Privacy Policy